Skip to content ↓
GCE Trust

GCE Trust

Trustee Profiles

Mr Robert Wade

Bob was elected to the Chair of Trustees and Director of Gippeswyk Community Educational Trust (GCET) in July, 2019 having served as a Director and Trustee since the Trust was formed.  He is the Chair of the Trust’s Education & Standards Committee and a member of the Trust’s Health & Safety, Finance and Human Resources Committees.

Bob became a Community Governor on the Copleston High School Local Governing Body in March 2013 and resigned in September, 2019 in order to become Chair of the Rose Hill Primary School Local Governing Body until July 2022.  During his service as a Governor at Copleston he chaired the Education and Standards Committee and among other responsibilities he monitored Equality and GDPR on behalf of the GCE Trust.

Bob is a retired Police Superintendent having served 27 years with the Suffolk Constabulary. On retirement, he completed a Master’s Degree at Leicester University before becoming a Management Development Consultant.  Bob has worked with a wide range of public sector organisations including Fire Services, Ambulance Trusts and The Prison Service.  He also spent six years working on Department for International Development (DFiD) projects in India (Senior Leadership Development - Indian Police Service), Bosnia (Community Policing) and Turkey (Child Protection).

He is an avid birdwatcher and he enjoys photography, golf and travelling

Mr Roger Smith MBE

Roger is a Trustee of the Gippeswyk Community Educational Trust.

Roger was first appointed a School Governor at Holywells before joining the Board of Governors at Thurleston - becoming Chairman at the time when Laurie Robinson was Headteacher.

He was previously a governor at Copleston High School.

Roger began his working life as a student apprentice at Ransomes, Sims and Jefferies gaining qualification as a chartered engineer. After many years as a design engineer, he looked for a new challenge and moved into personnel management and was subsequently promoted to Director of Personnel. During this period Roger spent considerable time working with Suffolk schools, setting up the Suffolk Education Business Partnership. Roger was awarded the MBE for services to Suffolk education/business.

Roger left Ransomes to take up the post as Director of the Engineering Employers Federation (East Anglian Association). He retired in March 2003.

Mrs Val Lamond-Mattocks

Val is a Trustee and Vice-Chair of the Gippeswyk Community Educational Trust.

She was previously a Governor of Copleston High School.

She is a member of both the Finance Committee and the HR and H&S Committee.

Val is committed to ensuring that all pupils have an equal opportunity to achieve their best from their time at school.

Val enjoys exploring the countryside of Suffolk in her spare time.

Mr Andy Lewis

Following a 38-year career in insurance, Andy is now retired and is able to spend more time with his family and volunteering. During his career he developed excellent people management skills, process and financial management skills, client relationship skills and change management skills.

He is married with two grown up children, both of whom attended Copleston, and has one grandchild.

Andy is also a Council Member of Ipswich East Rotary Club and enjoys the volunteer opportunities the Club provides.

Mr Andrew Fell

Andrew has recently retired from Headship following 34 years in schools; 14 years of those as a Secondary Headteacher and prior to that working as a Special Need Teacher in mainstream and in special schools.

Andrew is currently working as a School Improvement Executive for a Multi-Academy Trust in Norfolk and is a consultant for Curriculum and Leadership.

Outside of his professional life, Andrew has 3 grown up sons who he and his wife visit as much as possible and takes the opportunity to make the most of being outside in the countryside in Suffolk; walking, swimming and fishing.

Mrs Mishal Fawad

Mishal completed her education in Law from King's College University London and is currently a Trainee Solicitor at Attwells Solicitors LLP. Her work at Attwells covers a wide range of Corporate and Commercial Property matters. Her previous seats included Residential Property and Private Client.

She also participates as a mentor in the firm's mentorship programme aimed at helping solicitor apprentices develop their careers.

Prior to this, her legal background includes working for organisations such as Citibank, Hogan Lovells, Suffolk County Council and local high street firms.

Mishal enjoys helping to support and make a difference to the future of young people and their education.

Mr Shaun Common

Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Gippeswyk Community Educational Trust.

He has been a senior leader in 3 large secondary schools. He was the Principal at Copleston High School for 10 years, having previously been the Headteacher of another Suffolk High School.